January 11, 2014 / by James Whatley">James Whatley / Geek, How to / 2 Comments

On Gmail? Here’s how to prevent ‘anyone on Google+’ from being able to email you

Have you heard the news? Google just launched a new Gmail ‘feature’ that basically allows anyone to email you if they know your Google+ handle.

OH NO

Given that your Google+ handle nearly pretty much has to be your full name, the potential for abuse here is not insignificant.

Fortunately (for you) there’s a handy way to get around this and you can thank Mr Will Oremus for the tip off. Ready?

And that’s that. Why oh why Google think this is a good idea, I don’t know. Alas, there it is. Question for you, dear reader, will you be adjusting your settings? Or will you be leaving ‘as is’? Which way and why. Leave a comment and let me know. I’m intrigued.

______

Update: Further clarification from a Google employee makes light of this. I guess the difference between having your contact details on your website and Google making you email-able by anyone on Google+ is that Google didn’t make the decision in the first instance, you did.

 

Last updated by at .

2 comments on “On Gmail? Here’s how to prevent ‘anyone on Google+’ from being able to email you”

  1. Call me trusting but I believe Google’s spam filters are potent enough to keep my inbox clean.

    [Reply]

  2. Rachel says:

    I’m considering this. My email is public on my website so any one can already email me, so there’s no difference there. The risk I see is if it’s going to be used for spam mails, will be keeping an eye out.

    [Reply]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get the Five Things Newsletter

------------------
Enter your details below to get the Five Things on Friday update delivered to your inbox, every week.
* = required field

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Blogroll

Archive

Categories

Search